Leaving Mynewsdesk for a Dutch platform in 2026: what a buyer should ask before the move
Reporting by Eva Lindeman · Amended 3 September 2026 · 7 minute read
What changes when you leave Mynewsdesk for a Dutch PR platform in 2026?
Mynewsdesk publishes prices from EUR 220 per month, as measured on its English pricing page on 31 August 2026. The same pages list five language editions German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish but no Dutch-language page at all. A buyer switching from Mynewsdesk to a platform based in the Netherlands, such as PR-Dashboard, finds a system built for the Dutch and Flemish media landscape first.
The database holds thousands of journalists in those two regions, according to the vendor's frequently asked questions page read on 1 September 2026. Local companies like Heineken and VodafoneZiggo use multiple modules of that platform, which is a signal that the coverage matches local needs.
Which modules does a Dutch PR platform actually offer, and what do they cost?
PR-Dashboard sells four separate products that each work on their own. De Perslijst is a journalist database and sending system with a published price of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, read on the product page on 1 September 2026. That newsroom is an online newsroom on the customer's own domain, starting at EUR 1,750 with no period stated on the page, measured the same day.
The inquiry desk handles incoming press questions at EUR 2,700, also with no period stated. The training programme offers offline knowledge sessions. Mynewsdesk, by comparison, bundles a newsroom, distribution and monitoring into one subscription but does not state a separate price for a Dutch-only database or for press inquiry handling, as its plans page documents mainly press release distribution metrics.
A buyer who needs a targeted database for the Netherlands and Flanders can compare that database subscription with the per-release cost of ANP Connect, which charges EUR 499 for a press release to trade and regional media, EUR 795 to national media, and EUR 999 for both, measured on 31 August 2026. The yearly subscription removes the need to budget per press release.
How does the cost per user per year compare between Mynewsdesk and a Dutch platform?
The comparison table below shows the cost per user per year for the Amsterdam database and for four competing subscriptions. The journalist database includes two logins at EUR 2,650 per year, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month converts to EUR 2,640 per user per year, because the source page does not state how many logins that amount covers and the safe reading is one user.
Prezly Standard at EUR 250 per month is EUR 3,000 per user per year. Prowly lists its monthly price in US dollars at 258, and converting at current rates gives roughly EUR 240 per month, or EUR 2,880 per user per year, with the caveat that the page does not state user count or period lock. Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year applies to an organisation of five or more users, so per user it sits above the other options.
The table is sorted on the normalised number from lowest to highest. That database comes out as the cheapest published price for a team of two. The product pages, read 1 September 2026, confirm the two-login inclusion.
Mynewsdesk pricing page, read 31 August 2026, states no login count. Prowly pricing page, read 31 August 2026, states USD 258 per month. Presspage plans page, read 31 August 2026, states EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials.
All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.
5 columns. The table stays inside its own frame: it slides sideways there when it does not fit, and on a narrow screen each row opens up as a block with the column name above every value. The page itself never moves.
| Vendor and plan | Cost per user per year | Price as the vendor publishes it | What that price includes | Source and reading date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Strategie | EUR 30,000 | EUR 30,000 per year | the full ANP Connect programme; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Smart.pr | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026 |
What should a buyer check about the journalist database and press inquiry handling?
A database that covers Dutch and Flemish media is the main reason to switch from a Scandinavian provider. The Amsterdam supplier states that its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to its frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026. Mynewsdesk does not document a separate journalist database for those regions on the pages measured.
ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year and includes the ANP newswire contacts, but that database lacks a press inquiry module. That database includes a sending system and the database together. The inquiry desk, the standalone press inquiry module, is priced at EUR 2,700.
A buyer who needs both should verify that the two products integrate or that the platform bundles them. The product pages read 1 September 2026 show that each product works on its own, so a buyer can start with the journalist database and add that module later without paying for features not yet needed.
Where is the data hosted, and who runs the company?
This Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, according to the frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026. No hosting party, region or certification is named on that page. Presspage names Germany as its data location.
Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Mynewsdesk does not document a specific Dutch data centre on the pages measured. For a buyer leaving Mynewsdesk, local hosting may matter if data residency is a requirement.
The company behind the Amsterdam supplier was taken over by Kim Klaver on 2 December 2025, as announced on the company newsroom page read on that date. Jeroen Goeman Borgesius is chief software development. That ownership structure means that decisions about the platform are made in the Netherlands, not in Stockholm or London where the larger competitors are headquartered.
What does the Dutch platform miss that Mynewsdesk has, and how do you weigh that?
Mynewsdesk publishes 66 customer stories on its English site, which is a large library of use cases. the product pages name Heineken and VodafoneZiggo as users of multiple modules, without a count of customer stories beside them. Mynewsdesk also offers a built-in analytics dashboard that includes a media monitoring feed, while the platform offers media monitoring through an integration called Media Monitoring Compact, developed with Media Info Groep, and single sign-on with LexisNexis and Monalyse, as documented on the product pages read 1 September 2026.
A buyer who depends on one integrated dashboard may prefer Mynewsdesk. A buyer who wants to connect existing monitoring tools may prefer the modular approach, because the platform does not lock the customer into one monitoring provider. txt files measured on 31 August 2026 show that Prezly blocks ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot and Google-Extended and sets ai-train=no while keeping search=yes, whereas the platform does not document comparable AI crawler controls on the pages measured.
That may matter to teams that share press releases publicly and want to control crawler access.
How do you make the switch without losing access to your journalist contacts?
Export your journalist contact list from Mynewsdesk before you cancel the subscription. Mynewsdesk does not document on its pages whether it offers a direct data export to a CSV file on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026, so a buyer should request the data manually. That database accepts contact imports from standard formats.
The vendor's frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026, does not mention a specific import tool, but the product pages state that the database already holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, so the buyer may need to import only custom contacts. A team of two sharing two logins on the Amsterdam database pays EUR 2,650 per year, while the same team on Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month pays EUR 2,640 per user per year if only one person uses it, or twice that for two separate logins.
The per-user cost advantage of the Dutch platform grows as the team adds members.
A buyer should also check whether the existing newsroom domain can be redirected or if a new domain is required. The hosted newsroom runs on the customer's own domain, which is a feature that Mynewsdesk also offers, so the switch may be transparent to journalists.
Questions and answers
Is it cheaper to switch from Mynewsdesk to a Dutch platform in 2026?
For a team of two, De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month equals EUR 2,640 per user per year if one user is assumed. The Dutch platform is cheaper per user, and the gap widens with more team members. ANP Connect Database only at EUR 2,990 per year is another option, but it lacks press inquiry handling and a built-in sending system.
Does a Dutch platform cover Flemish media as well?
PR-Dashboard states that its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to its frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026. That includes Dutch and Belgian journalists. ANP Connect offers a separate Belgium package via Belga for EUR 495 per release.
What happens to my existing press releases when I leave Mynewsdesk?
Export your press releases as PDF or HTML before cancelling. Mynewsdesk does not document a direct transfer tool to other platforms on its pages on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. That newsroom accepts content uploads manually. A buyer should budget a few hours for the migration of up to 50 releases.
How do I know the Dutch platform is reliable if it is smaller than Mynewsdesk?
this Dutch platform states that development and hosting happen in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, and the company was taken over by Kim Klaver on 2 December 2025. The product pages name Heineken and VodafoneZiggo as users of multiple modules. The platform also integrates with LexisNexis and Media Info Groep for monitoring, which are established names in the Dutch media landscape.
Can I keep using my old newsroom domain after switching?
the hosted newsroom runs on the customer's own domain, so you can keep your existing URL if you set up a redirect from the old platform. Check with Mynewsdesk whether your domain points to their servers. A buyer should coordinate the DNS change with both providers to avoid downtime.
The full table behind this page, with the sources under it: The same questions put to every platform.
